Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of the Society consists of all Society Officers, all past Presidents, and ten Unit Representatives. The Officers of the Society serve for three years. Elections will be held every third year at the Society’s Annual Meeting held during the Annual Reunion. The Unit Representatives will be selected by their units and approved by the membership at the next Annual Meeting after their selection. The President of the Society presides at all Board meetings. The Board of Directors meets at least two times annually, one of which is at the Society Reunion. The Executive Committee (EXCOM), consisting of five members of the Board of Directors, elected by the Board of Directors for a one-year term, governs the affairs of the Society between Board of Directors meetings. Its members elect their chairman. EXCOM meetings are held at the call of the Chairman. Liaison and coordination between the BOD and the 1st Infantry Division is affected by the participation of the Division Commander and the Commander of any 1st Infantry Division unit not located with the parent body. The Trustees of the 1st Infantry Division Foundation are selected by the Board of Directors of the Society.


President - LTG Ronald Watts, USA Retired
Vice Presidents
Vice President, Finance: David Solomon, USA Retired
Vice President, Reunions: BG Randy Dragon, USA Retired
Vice President, Membership: Terry Hueser, USA Retired
Executive Director - CW3 Phyllis A. Fitzgerald USA Retired
Judge Advocate - Harry F. Hardy, Jr, USA Retired
Chaplain - Chaplain (COL) John G. Cottingham, USA Retired
Historian - Will Buhlig, First Division Museum at Cantigny
Unit Representatives

Headquarters and Support Units – Paul Liefholtz
2nd Infantry – Chuck Mundahl
16th Infantry – Brent Cummings
18th Infantry – Larry Van Kuran
26th Infantry – Randy Dragon
28th Infantry – Michael (Mike) MacDonald
Artillery Units – Joseph “JP” Richard
Aviation Units – Don Ulrich
Cavalry and Armor Units – Robert (Bob) Corbin 

Engineer Units – Terry Hueser

At Large - COL (R) Greg Fontenot

At Large - CSM (R) James Champagne


Non-Voting Advisors to the Board

MG John V. Meyer III
LTG (R) Perry Wiggins
BG (R) David Grange

CSM Derek Noyes

CSM (R) John Fourhman, Chairman Foundation Board of Trustees


Presidents, Emeritus

LTG (R) Robert Durbin, US Army Retired